Black and White Cookies

I have been craving a black and white cookie for the past week and a half, and I have no idea why. I’ve never even had one before, but I woke up one morning like WHERE’S MY MAC AND CHEESE. Aggressive.

Maybe I saw an episode about them on a Food Network show or something? Maybe it was an ingredient on Chopped? Maybe I’ve been reading too many Mormon Mommy blogs? Whatever the reason, I have been a woman on a mission, popping into every bakery and cafe all crazy-eyed and Intervention levels of tweaky. Alas, my cookie questing has been in earnest; all I have to show for my efforts are the hurt feelings of the pastry case attendants who have had the displeasure of witnessing my side-eye. Glare. GLARE.

I decided to take matters into my own hands and just make a batch of black and white cookies myself. I mean, what could go wrong? And with no frame of reference, the worst case scenario would be that I ended up with a half dozen cookies that weren’t black and white cookies but were still a baked amalgamation of sugar and fat. Note to self: potential bakery name, Sugar+Fat, or, Amalgamation of Sugar and Fat. Sexy. I mean, I’ve eaten worse, which is turning out to be an overarching theme of this blog. Reach for the stars and even if you miss you’ll land on the cookie moon?

Besides finally putting this unexplained craving to rest, I was also excited to finally make cookies at sea level. Bozeman is about a mile above sea level, and with less atmospheric pressure, baked goods rise more quickly. If you don’t compensate for this change (which I never did, derp), the pastries will rise too quickly for how cooked they are on the inside, and will inevitably flop. All of my cookies ended up being tuiles, and it was the worst. I was determined to finally make a cookie that I didn’t have to literally scrape off the baking sheet with a chisel. Good riddance, Wild Wild West.

I don’t normally prefer a cake-like cookie to a dense, chewy cookie, but oh man, black and white cookies are pretty decent. They are also very, very messy to make. Sorry, Mom.

photo 2

Also, black and white cookies are the perfect funemployed pastry because they perfectly reflect a mood that can only be described as Katy Perry’s “Hot and Cold” levels of manic depression. WE FIGHT WE BREAK UP WE KISS WE MAKE UP. I reference Katy Perry way too much on this blog, and for that I apologize. Kidding, no I don’t.

Anyways, onwards!

photo 3

Black and White Cookies

(makes 8 cookies)

Cookie

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup buttermilk
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg

Preheat oven to 350º F. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt. In separate bowl, combine buttermilk and vanilla. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until well mixed, about 3 minutes. Add egg and beat. Alternative adding flour mixture and milk mixture, adding about a cup at a time.

On a baking sheet with parchment paper, scoop out cookies using a 1/4 cup measuring cup. Bake 15-17 minutes. Transfer to wire rack, and allow to cool before frosting.

Icing
1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar
1 tablespoon clear corn syrup
2 teaspoons lemon juice
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoon water (original recipe called for 1 tbsp but I found the icing to be a bit dry)
1/4 cup cocoa powder

Stir together confectioner’s sugar, corn syrup, lemon juice, vanilla, and 1 tbsp water, adding more water as needed. Divide in half, and in one bowl, add cocoa powder and remaining water. Decorate however you see fit, I’m not here to stifle your creativity. Dip into a glass of milk while listening to Katy Perry on repeat forever.

Leave a Reply

